Best Film Award and the Hong Kong Prize

Raging Fire directed by late director Benny Chan won posthumously best film at the 40th Hong Kong Film Awards held last weekend in Hong Kong, taking home action choreography, film editing and cinematography awards along with nominations for best actor Donnie Yen. Cecilia Cheung hosted this ceremony.

This year, 30 films were nominated for top honours at the award show. Competition was fierce but winners were chosen by a panel of judges from among worthy contenders; those selected will each receive either a gold medal and 30 million Hong Kong dollars ($3.8 million); two others prizes consisting of research grants and educational funds are each worth 20 million HK dollars each.

The BOCHK SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY INNOVATION PRIZE is open to innovation across all fields of science and technology, such as Artificial Intelligence/Robotics/Life/Health; New Materials and Energy Sources/Advanced Manufacturing/FinTech etc. This prize aims to encourage scientific researchers and innovators in Hong Kong to remain committed to innovation exploration; establish their research findings within society for greater good; as well as contribute their talents towards greater global collaboration through science & technology.

A bipartisan congressional commission nominated six Hong Kongers for the Nobel Peace Prize, including jailed Catholic media mogul Jimmy Lai and Cardinal Joseph Zen. Their nomination aims to demonstrate Hong Kong’s support for human rights and free speech according to the U.S. Congressional-Executive Commission on China which submitted their letter directly to the Norwegian Nobel Committee. They compare them with Nazi critic Carl von Ossietzky, Soviet dissident Andrei Sakharov, Polish politician Lech Walesa and Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo among many others who also share these traits.

Justice Centre Hong Kong was established in 2007 with the mission of providing protection, justice and a decent life to everyone on their path to it. They provide legal and psychosocial assistance as well as research into forced migration issues for forced migrants. Their work reflects George Endacott’s vision who helped re-establish History Department as an academic field during 1950s.

The HK Student Prize is open to all secondary school students enrolled in Hong Kong secondary schools. Nomination for submission should come from their teachers and artwork should be submitted online before the submission deadline. Each shortlisted artist will receive HK$8,000 with their schools receiving an amount equivalent to this sum – for more information visit our website, or follow us on social media like Facebook for updates – we look forward to receiving your submissions!