The Sidney Prize

A Sydney Prize is an award given to people who have accomplished great things, in order to motivate other individuals towards hard work and goal fulfillment. These prizes are selected based on specific criteria that must be fulfilled to qualify for one; additionally, many come with a financial reward attached.

The Sidney Award in journalism is a monthly recognition that honors outstanding reporting. Selected by a panel of judges from The New York Times editorial staff and published online edition, its winner receives both cash award and plaque in his or her name. Sidney Hook was known to work for many years at The Times and write best-selling books himself – an ode to him who would receive this prize himself!

The Sidney Hillman Foundation is an award-giving left-of-center foundation, which awards monetary prizes to journalism and public service work. Funded largely by unions, its chairman is former Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America president Bruce Raynor who now heads Workers United SEIU; additionally its board includes several union leaders as well as left-leaning celebrities.

The Sidney Hillman Prize for Investigative Reporting is an annual award given out monthly, to an exceptional piece of investigative journalism that highlights social or economic injustice. The winner is announced each first Wednesday of each month and receives a $5,0000 first prize while two runners-up each receive $750 as runners-up prizes – named in honor of journalist Sidney Hillman (deceased).

This scholarship is awarded as a one-off grant to an exemplary senior graduate student or recent PhD graduate in History who has published an article from their dissertation research on any aspect of Christian history spanning across American, European or global fields. It is sponsored by Sidney Hillman Foundation and administered by Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Church History.

The Sir Philip Sidney Ardern Prize was founded in 1967 through a donation by Miss A.M. Ardern in memory of her late brother, Sir Philip Sidney Ardern (1892-1947), lecturer and Associate-Professor of English at Auckland University College from 1912 to 1947. It honors an English major student whose work exhibits outstanding expression of emotion through language; nomination is determined by faculty before voting takes place at the end of every academic year.

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is an annual literary award honoring outstanding short fiction that explores travel in any capacity – geographical, historical, or cultural. With a grand prize of $5,0000 awarded annually to the winner’s entry and published in Overland magazine. Open to writers worldwide with submissions reviewed by an impartial panel of judges before submission deadlines every last day of every month; list of past winners can be found online; two runners-up will also be published online as runners-up works.